AHEC Mentors

This is a sample of our amazing mentors, for the academic year 2022–2023.  AHEC Scholars get a chance to meet and choose a mentor to work with during their time in the program, our mentors represent various geographic locations, as well as careers and diverse backgrounds.

Please keep checking back on our list as we keep recruiting new outstanding members of our community to serve in this program.

New additions:

Jenna Christensen, MSW, MBA- Senior Strategic Project Manager, Huntsman Mental Health Institute

Shaun Curran, PA‑C — Family Medicine Physician Assistant and Assistant Professor (Lecturer) at the University of School of Medicine


Ivette Lopez, Ph.D., MPH
Professor (Lecturer), Family And Preventive Medicine, University of Utah

Rita Osborn, MBA

Rita Osborn, MBA
Executive Director, Utah Center for Rural Health

Kasey Shakespear, MHA, MPHMA
Program Manager, Utah Center for Rural Health

Ana Sanchez-Birkhead, Ph.D., WHNP-BCAPRN
Associate Professor, University of Utah College of Nursing

Juan Carlos Negrette, MBA
Director, Global Health at University of Utah — Health Sciences

David N. Sundwall, MD

David Sundwall, MD
Clinical Professor of Public Health at the University of Utah

Senator Steve Urquhart, JD

Senator Steve Urquhart, JD
Utah House of Representatives, 29th Senate District

Angela C. Dunn, MDMPH
 Utah Department of Health — Bureau of Epidemiology

Karen E. Mulitalo, MPAS, PA‑C
 Program Director, Utah Valley University College of Health

Cam Torres, MDMBA
Director, Physician-Patient Experience at Emerus Health

Yas Simonian, PhD

Yasmen Simonian, PhD
Dean, Dr. Ezekiel R. Dumke College of Health Professions at Weber State University.

Jose E. Rodriguez. MD
 Associate Vice President for Health Equity and Inclusion, University of Utah

Frederick Henderson, MHA

Fred Henderson, MHA
Center Director of the Northern Utah AHEC

Eli Bermudez, MS, PhD

Eli Bermudez, MS, PhD
Dean, Dixie State University College of Health Sciences.

Mindy Bateman

Mindy Bateman, BS
 Director, Crossroads Utah AHEC

Lisa Gren, PhD
Associate Professor in the Division of Public Health at the University of Utah,
Director for the University of Utah Primary Care Research Network„
Director for the Center for Research on Migration and Refugee Immigration.

Darin T. Ryujin, PA, MPAS, P‑AC
Associate Professor (Clinical), Family And Preventive Medicine, University of Utah

Joan Gallegos, RN, M.S.W.
Director, Community Engagement.  Comagine Health.

David Sandweiss, MD
Director of Rural and American Indian Outreach for the Dept of Pediatrics Global, Rural, and Underserved Child Health Program

Steven Lacey, MS, PhD CIH, CSPFAIHA
Chief, Division of Public Health, University of Utah School of Medicine

Carrie Torgersen
Senior Program Manager — Clinical Training